The Department of Trade and Industry (DTI)  Regional Office No. 02, the Department of the Interior and Local Government – Regional Office No. 02 (DILG), and the Regional Competitiveness Committee (RCC), conducted the 1st Regional Meeting of Business Permits and Licensing Officers (BPLOs) on September 13, 2017 at the City of Ilagan Hotel and Convention Center, City of Ilagan, Isabela.

The meeting aimed to discuss topics that are relevant to the Business Permits and Licensing System (BPLS) process and to organize the Regional Association of BPLOs (RABPLO).

It was attended by BPLOs, local functionaries, and representatives from the regional and provincial offices of DTI, DILG, Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT), Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP), and Bureau of Local Government Finance (BLGF).

Among the topics discussed were the “Updates on the DILG – DTI – DICT JMC No. 01 – 2016” by Mr. Faisah Jevah Dela Rosa, BPLS Focal Person of Competitiveness Bureau; “R.A. 9178: Barangay Micro Business Enterprises (BMBEs) Act of 2002” by Mr. Winston T. Singun, Division Chief – DTI Cagayan; “Sharing of Santa Maria, Bulacan’s BPLS Best Practices” by Mr. Romeo Aris Teves, Information System Analyst of Santa Maria, Bulacan; and “Sharing of Parañaque City’s BPLS Best Practices” and “Orientation to the National Association of BPLOs (NABPLO)” by Atty. Melanie S. Malaya, BPLO of Parañaque City and NABPLO President.

During the activity, Mr. Danver Arzaga, Local Civil Registrar and Local Economic and Investments Promotion Officer (LEIPO) of the City of Ilagan, Isabela, delivered the welcome remarks in behalf of Hon. Evelyn C. Diaz, City Mayor of Ilagan. In his message, he thanked the organizers and the participants for choosing the City as the venue for the activity.

Meanwhile, Atty. Odilon L. Pasaraba, DILG Assistant Regional Director, said that the creation of RABPLO will empower the BPLOs in the Region to more effectively champion business-friendly and competitive Local Government Units (LGUs) and to stir local economic development.

According to Mr. Charles Irvin P. Tagarino, DTI BPLS Focal Person, there are several reasons on why there is a need to organize a RABPLO. According to him, there is a need for a venue to share best practices and information that are relevant to the BPLOs and a “voice” in raising concerns and issues with National Government Agencies and with the Legislature.

Hence, he stressed that the RABPLO is envisioned to be a dynamicorganization of empowered BPLOs that will be responsible for recommending measures that will contribute to the improvement of the business registration process and for facilitating the transfer of information and relevant updates to LGUs on national and regional BPLS projects.

Highlighting the meeting is the election of RABPLO officers. The following is the composition of the RABPLO in Region 02:


President                   :           Mr. George Colebra (Maddela, Quirino)

Vice – President       :           Mr. Noel Sopongco (Solano, Nueva Vizcaya)

Secretary                   :           Ms. Henrietta Tumolva (Tumauini, Isabela)


Provincial Focal Persons:

1. Cagayan               :           Mr. Andrew Matammu (Tuao, Cagayan)

2. Isabela                   :           Ms. Jocelyn Manibog (Delfin Albano, Isabela)

3. Nueva Vizcaya     :           Ms. Magdalena Acosta (Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya)

4. Quirino                  :           Mr. Edralin Baingan (Nagtipunan, Quirino)


Provincial Alternate Focal Persons:

1. Cagayan               :           Ms. Sicel Guerrero (Lasam, Cagayan)

2. Isabela                   :           Atty. ArtemioVillaluz, Jr. (Santiago City)

3. Nueva Vizcaya     :           Mr. Percival Lagera (Dupaxdel Norte, Nueva Vizcaya)

4. Quirino                  :           Mr. Gavin Cadiente (Saguday, Quirino)


After the election of officers, Atty. Malaya facilitated the oath-taking of NABPLO members and RABPLO interim officers.

In a message, Mr. Ruben B. Diciano, DTI OIC Regional Director, stressed that “the 1st Regional Meeting signals a very strong partnership among the LGUs and all stakeholders.” He further said that the creation of the RABPLO will create long term benefits to all. In closing, he congratulated everyone for creating a difference and for taking the lead towards good governance.